Joining Weight Watchers Again

So I had an epiphany. I had been eating Paleo foods but I was miserable. I was miserable not because Paleo isn’t effective and extremely healthy for you. It is effective and healthy. However, living with people and being surrounded by people who don’t adhere to Paleo makes this type of diet difficult. The constant exposure to chocolate, chips, bread…pick your poison…I could see it, smell it, and hear those bags rustling in the kitchen. It all haunted my dreams and I would crash hard. Maybe other people have the willpower to deal with the constant waft of sugar and carbs, but it made me a bit of a grump. I felt really restricted – especially since I am prone to binging.

Soooo I joined Weight Watchers online again. Back in 2011, I lost 70 lbs. while living in Japan and following Weight Watchers. It was definitely a challenge (especially having to figure out the Japanese characters for protein, fiber, etc.) but I did it. I tracked my points online and exercised all over that adorable little island! It was pretty amazing to go for walks or runs next to the sea. I don’t know if I will ever have that chance again! But anyways, I felt really good and I was extremely successful. I ended up going through some difficult personal issues and backslid into emotional binging, gaining all the weight back. I’m talking serious emotional binging. I actually ate an entire Costco-sized box of Fiber One brownie bars in one night. I would NOT recommend that. Despite my downward spiral for other reasons, WW was, by far, the most successful I have ever been at weight loss.

I still want to try to do a Strict 30 but I feel that with all the weight I have to lose, I need to start with something tried and true that has worked for me before. Now I have read some online comments about what people think about doing Weight Watchers and Crossfit at the same time. There are some real WW-haters in the Paleo and Crossfit community, guffawing at all the sugar and carbs that can be consumed. One comment was that WW isn’t sustainable. As someone who has struggled with binge eating for 20 years, I have found the opposite to be true. WW really helps me with disordered eating and portion control. It also goes to say that just because I do WW doesn’t mean I can’t incorporate Paleo recipes into my diet. Ideally I would like to cut out all the sugary, carby processed foods, but at this point in time, I don’t think that I can stick with that as easily. It’s a step in the right direction and I am choosing my battles for now.

Leave a Reply

