Staying Strong

I am currently down to 256 lbs., which is an 82.4 lb. loss from my heaviest (338.4 lbs.). The first 34 lbs were lost by just walking more and incorporating healthier foods into my diet over the span of the first 6 months. The last 48.4 lbs. have resulted from more stringent dedication and the hard work I’ve put in over the last 6 months. I kicked it into high gear last December when I joined a local Crossfit gym and started to track my food and control my portions on Weight Watchers online. This has worked wonders for me and I can tell major differences now.

I am no longer a size 1X or 2X but a size large or x-large in regular women’s clothing. I invest more time and energy into my appearance so that I feel positive inside and out. Yes, I do the whole nine yards with make-up because it makes me feel powerful and creative (I am a big eyeshadow and contouring fan). I have a lot more energy and I look forward to my workout every day. I always feel more alert and happy after I have worked out. It has also been a great way to meet people and socialize. Losing weight has a HUGE effect on my happiness levels. I feel more confident and upbeat, rather than self-conscious and sad. I don’t worry as much about what people think about me.

I still have about 106 lbs. that I would like to lose but I am discovering that that is okay by me. I am actually kind of enjoying the journey. I feel like I am learning a lot about myself and what caused me to binge in the past. I have definitely had slip-ups where I binged but I have always bounced back, which makes me super proud. I would binge for a few days and then decide to get back on track because I didn’t like how the binging made me feel physically or emotionally.

I still eat a fair amount of sugar and processed foods and would eventually like to transition to a more natural, unprocessed diet. However, I don’t feel absolutely ready for that yet. I would like to have more ability to control my portions before I take that plunge. But so far, I have to say that I am loving this new version of myself and can’t wait to see the coming changes!

Leave a Reply

